Introduction: Dark Chocolate, Prune, and Sunflower Seed Cookies

Oh boy.

It happened again.

My mind has latched onto an idea and is holding onto it for dear life.

I kept pushing the enticing thought aside, more concerned with planning trips, designing menus for work, and learning how to french braid my hair (Yeah, I know. I should’ve learned how to do that about 10 years ago. More on that later.)

But it’s time to face the facts; I can’t ignore the desire to start a baking blog any longer.

At first, I thought I’d create a baking blog featuring new spins on my favorite Midwestern recipes. Or, I pondered, a blog fit for the most sophisticated, outrageous desserts I could push myself to create.

Then I realized, merely sharing my love of baking will not be enough.  

I want more.

I want a blog that speaks to women just like me. I want to be able to openly talk about our perverse and fantastic relationships with ourselves, food, and the world around us.

This blog is going to explore how I relate to food as well as the issues I have to face as a woman every single beautiful, horrendous minute of every day.

My name’s Allison.

This is a peek inside the roller coaster I call my life.

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to connect with me today.

 

Dark Chocolate, Prune, and Sunflower Seed Cookies

Yield: 28 (1 fl oz scoop) cookies

1 cup dark chocolate chips

6 tablespoons butter, cut into 1 tablespoon pieces

1 cup dark brown sugar (light brown will work also)

2 eggs, beaten

1 1/8 teaspoons vanilla extract

¼ teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 cup all-purpose flour

6 tablespoons hulled, salted sunflower seeds (also known as “meats”)

2/3 cup or 4 oz pitted prunes, finely diced

Confectioner’s sugar or turbinado sugar, for rolling

Place dark chocolate chips into a medium sized, heat proof bowl. Place butter on top of dark chocolate chips. Gently melt dark chocolate chips and butter in microwave. Stir in dark brown sugar with a rubber spatula. Add eggs and vanilla extract to chocolate mixture. Sift together salt, baking powder, and all-purpose flour. Combine dry ingredients with chocolate mixture. The chocolate mixture will be the consistency of thick brownie batter. Add sunflower seeds and prunes. Scrape down the bowl and cover the surface of chocolate mixture with plastic wrap. Refrigerate for 8 hours. Dough can be made 1 day prior to being baked. Preheat oven to 350F. Scoop cookie dough and roll in the sugar of your choice. Place 2 inches apart on wax or parchment paper lined baking trays. Bake for approximately 14 minutes, until cookies are firm and chocolate no longer looks shiny. If you accidentally under bake them, you can place them back in the oven to bake further. Let cookies cool completely on pans before removing them. Store in an airtight container for up to 3 days.

*Recipe adapted from Cynthia Hinton’s Chocolate Crinkle Cookie recipe of The Bluestem Bakeshop in Elkhart,IL.

Image

6 thoughts on “Introduction: Dark Chocolate, Prune, and Sunflower Seed Cookies

  1. Allison, why do we use salt in a cookie or cake recipe, never quite understood it, can you enlighten me?
    Love ya
    Aunt Joy

Leave a Reply

