My First Food Memory: Banana Split Bread (Traditonal And Better For You!)

My first food memory doesn’t really count.

It’s not heartwarming or momentous, but it sure as hell is funny.

I was 4 years old. It was a crisp, autumn day, the best kind of day. I was a very happy camper, not just because of the weather, but because my grandma was spending the day at our house. Whenever grandma’s around, you know dinner’s going to be awesome.

And that night, we would be feasting on chili. The kitchen already smelled delicious; molasses, sautéed onions, tangy tomatoes, and crispy-on-the-outside-tender-on-the-inside ground beef. One ingredient was left to complete this Midwestern staple: chili beans.

There they were, looming above me in all their canned glory on the counter. I’m not sure what compelled me to reach for them, but I did. Did I want to help grandma by taking them from the counter to the stove? Maybe. Did I want to see what canned beans look like before they make it into the pot of chili? Probably.

I reached, and I reached. Finally, my hands grasped the oh so big can. Clearly, I lacked the common sense to not tip the can over as I pulled it toward myself in order to sneak a peak at its contents. Beans went everywhere. But mostly, they landed on my head.

Before I had time to react, my mom was next to me. And boy, was she not happy. She immediately started tsk-tsking me while trying to wipe the chili sauce off of my face.

I thought my grandma would be even angrier, because I had wasted a can of those precious chili beans. But what was my grandma doing instead?

She was laughing.

To this day, I don’t think I’ve ever heard my grandma laugh so hard.

If I could, I would do it a million times over just to hear her laugh like that again.

 

Banana Split Bread

¼ cup butter, room temperature

1 cup sugar or brown sugar

2 eggs

1 ½ cups mashed bananas (about 3 large bananas)

1/3 cup milk

1 2/3 cups AP flour

1 tsp baking soda

½ tsp salt

¼ tsp baking powder

½ cup walnuts, finely chopped

½ cup dark chocolate chips

½ cup dried or fresh, pitted cherries, roughly chopped

Preheat oven to 350F. In a medium bowl, cream together butter and sugar. Beat in eggs one at a time. Add mashed bananas and milk. Sift together dry ingredients. Beat dry ingredients into wet mixture. Fold in nuts, chocolate chips, and dried cherries. Spray an 8”x5” loaf pan with cooking spray. Pour batter into the pan. Sprinkle top with sugar, if desired. Bake for 1 hour 25 minutes, or until a knife comes out with only trace amounts of banana on it. Let cool completely before removing from pan. This batter also makes great muffins.

 

Better For You Banana Split Bread

1 Tbsp butter, melted

1 cup sugar or Splenda

¼ cup applesauce

2 eggs

1 ½ cups mashed bananas (about 3 large bananas)

1/3 cup skim milk

1 2/3 cups AP flour

1 tsp baking soda

½ tsp salt

¼ tsp baking powder

½ cup walnuts, finely chopped

½ cup dark chocolate chips

½ cup dried or fresh, pitted cherries, roughly chopped

Preheat oven to 350F. In a medium bowl, combine melted butter, sugar, and applesauce. Beat in eggs one at a time. Add mashed bananas and milk. Sift together dry ingredients. Beat dry ingredients into wet mixture. Fold in nuts, chocolate chips, and dried cherries. Spray an 8”x5” loaf pan with cooking spray. Pour batter into the pan. Sprinkle top with sugar, if desired. Bake for 1 hour 25 minutes, or until a knife comes out with only trace amounts of banana on it. Let cool completely before removing from pan. This batter also makes great muffins.

Image

Image

Image

Recipe adapted from Betty Crocker’s Banana Bread

10 thoughts on “My First Food Memory: Banana Split Bread (Traditonal And Better For You!)

  1. just a wonderful blog, was this about Grandma Klee? I printed it so she can read it also. I am going to try the bread. I so enjoyed reading this.
    Aunt Joy

  2. Love your receipe Allison! I’ll give it a try this weekend. Great blog and I’ll be checking in on you!
    Hugs!!

  3. I miss you Allison and your blog gives me the chance to connect with you since I don’t have a Facebook account. Love you, Aunt Kimmy
    p.s. Loved the memories…

  4. That is such a sweet memory and you put it in words beautifully! Love the idea of a banana split bread. Wish I could eat bananas, but everytime I eat them I get terrible cramps. But thankfully that doesn’t stop me from admiring good recipes!

    1. Thank you! I haven’t tried this before, but I believe this recipe will work with other starches (instead of bananas) such as half applesauce and half mashed sweet potato. If you give it a try please let me know how it goes!

    1. I would bake muffins for 350F for about 20 minutes, rotating the pans halfway through baking. Ovens vary of course, so make sure to use a toothpick to test doneness. The toothpick should have some crumbs stuck to it. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

