{Baked} Dark Chocolate Almond Donuts

I’ve had a lifelong, love/hate relationship I rarely talk about.

We didn’t get along for a very long time, but now our bond is stronger than ever.

I’m not naturally a breakfast person. For years, I wouldn’t eat anything at all, or I’d have to force down a granola bar or some toast with the lightest bit of peanut butter I could manage to scrape across it. A few hours later in the day, my stomach would growl aggressively. I would immediately regret my meager breakfast. Lunch would be bigger than necessary, full of processed carbs and unhealthy fats. Like many of my relationships, my one with food polarized into the two extremes. I’ll talk more about this later.

By college, I’d finally learned to not only eat breakfast, but enjoy it. The habit I’ve found most helpful in order to do this is to not snack too late at night. Years ago, eating something like a donut for my first meal of the day would be impossible. Donuts are not a separate food group on my pyramid anyway, though I know they are for some people. And there’s nothing wrong with that! My body does not deal well with fried food, but I do have a weakness for cake donuts.

I enjoy these donuts with my coffee drink of choice, a homemade caramel café au lait.

Dark Chocolate Almond Donuts

Makes 6 Baked Donuts

 6 Tablespoons milk

1 teaspoon vinegar

1 cup AP flour, sifted

6 Tablespoons sugar

1 teaspoon baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg

½ cup sliced almonds, toasted and cooled

1 egg

½ teaspoon almond extract

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 Tablespoon butter, melted

Preheat oven to 425F. Liberally spray a baked donut pan with cooking spray. Combine milk and vinegar in a small bowl. Set aside. Whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and ground nutmeg in a small bowl. Finely grind 2 Tablespoons of the toasted, sliced almonds. Add these to the dry mixture. Whisk together the sour milk mixture with the egg, extracts, and butter. Combine wet mixture with dry mixture using a rubber spatula. Pour the donut batter into a plastic storage or pastry bag. Cut off the tip and pipe batter evenly among the 6 donut molds. Bake for 7-8 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean and the edges are golden brown. Let donuts sit in mold for about 5 minutes. Remove from pan by gently pulling at the edges of each donut. Place warm donuts on a cooling rack to cool to room temperature. Meanwhile, make the chocolate glaze.

 Dark Chocolate Glaze

1 ½ oz (1/4 cup) good quality dark chocolate, such as Guittard

1 Tablespoon butter

1 Tablespoon honey, golden syrup, or corn syrup

Place all ingredients in a shallow bowl. Microwave until chocolate has barely melted. Dip a cooled donut in glaze, then immediately dip in the toasted almonds. Repeat with remaining donuts. Keep in a tightly sealed container at room temperature for up to 2 days. Best served the same day.

3 thoughts on “{Baked} Dark Chocolate Almond Donuts

  1. I can’t wait to try the dark chocolate almond donuts! Of course, I could always use a “little” help! I love the oeuflettes on your page!!

Leave a Reply

