Coconut Red Bean Ice Cream

I’ve been having some digestive issues lately. Nothing gross, but it is pertinent to the recipe I’ve posted for this week, I promise.

For years, I’ve not been able to handle dairy or fried foods very well. My body hasn’t liked eggs recently either. I can’t even eat a few sweets without my body going into sugar overload. Most people tell me I’m sooooo lucky to be cursed this way. And I say, sometimes a girl just needs a candy bar.

Lately, it’s been even worse. I’m having really bad heartburn. I’ve been able to mask the symptoms with a mélange of medications, but the doctors and I are worried it’s something worse.

Not that I mind going to the doctor, but I’ve been visiting more often than one should at my age. I had an EGD with biopsies and a pH test done this past week, and I’m waiting on the results.

So for now, I’m eating less dairy, less spicy food, less of the foods I love.

But don’t feel too bad for me.

I’ve been trying new foods, and experimenting in the kitchen with different techniques and ingredients. I dearly love ice cream, so this week I thought I’d try a vegan ice cream recipe.

 

Coconut And Red Bean Ice Cream

2 13.5-ounce cans coconut milk, divided
2 ½ Tablespoons cornstarch
3/4 cup sugar
pinch salt
1 ½ teaspoons vanilla bean paste
½ cup red bean paste, known as anko*

Combine ¼ cup coconut milk and cornstarch in a small bowl using a whip. Combine the remaining coconut milk, sugar, salt, and vanilla bean paste in a medium sized pot. Bring mixture to a simmer. Drizzle cornstarch mixture into hot mixture while whisking vigorously. Bring mixture to a boil. Continue to whisk vigorously for one minute. Pour mixture into a heat proof bowl. Whisk in the red bean paste. Let sit at room temperature until the ice cream base reaches room temperature. Store for 24 hours in the refrigerator. Spin ice cream base in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions. Serve with toasted coconut, if desired.

 

*Anko can be found at Asian food markets or you can make it yourself

Recipe adapted from Girl Cook’s Worlds’ Coconut Ice Cream Recipe

One thought on “Coconut Red Bean Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

