Chickpea Croquettes

Before you say anything, I know. I KNOW.

It’s been far too long since I’ve posted something.

I have excuses aplenty, including some travel and sickness (an all over body rash, anyone?). This post just keeps getting better. 😉

Anyway, I’m going to try to be more vigilant with my posts. I’ll TRY.

Also, I know this is a savory post. My first, in fact. I am a pastry chef, but I do enjoy cooking too, as evidenced by my daily (ok…at least a couple of times a day) visit to tastespotting.com and punchfork.com. Being vegetarian is both challenging and rewarding, and sometimes, this girl needs more than a salad.

So when I want something fast, versatile, and satisfying, I make chickpea croquettes. I top salads with them, stuff them into pita, make them into burgers, drench them in buffalo sauce…I also change up the nuts, beans, and spices to suit my mood.

Have fun!

 

Chickpea Croquettes

1 Tablespoon olive oil

1 teaspoon minced garlic

2-15 oz cans chickpeas, drained and rinsed

¼ cup almonds, finely ground

1-2 teaspoons ground cumin (I always add 2 tsp)

1 teaspoon ground chili powder or curry powder

1 egg

Vegetable oil or spray

Heat olive oil in a medium sized pot. Add garlic, and cook until fragrant and golden brown. Turn off the heat. Add chickpeas, and mash lightly with a potato masher or the back of a wooden spoon. I stop mashing when about half of the beans are left whole for added texture. Stir in spices and ground almonds. Stir in the egg. Heat a cast iron skillet on medium heat. Coat the pan with oil (or use spray for a less crispy crust). Using a cookie scoop, scoop the chickpea mixture onto the skillet, leaving enough space to spread and flip them; do not over crowd the pan. Spray or coat the back of a metal spatula with oil. Use the sprayed spatula to press the patties into a ½” thickness. Let cook for about 2 minutes, until the bottoms are medium brown. Flip them over and cook for an additional 2 minutes. Serve warm. Let cool completely before storing in an airtight container in the fridge for up to a week.

Image

Image

One thought on “Chickpea Croquettes

Leave a Reply

