Chocolate Chip Cookie Popcorn

For the life of me, I could not decide what to make for my blog this week. Usually, it’s a toss up between trying a new recipe and using up a particular ingredient I have in the house.

All week, I thought about it. The “problem” was I had too many options. Too many new recipes I could try, too many ingredient choices. Some people say not having enough options is a problem. I think the opposite is true.

I knew I wanted to use up some of the chocolate I had on hand, but I also have different nut/cookie butters I wanted to use up (rather than eat them by the spoonful, that is). What to do….what to do….

And then inspiration came in the unlikeliest of places.

My parents have watched CBS Sunday Morning as long as I can remember. I never really watched it growing up, and I worked Sunday mornings making cinnamon rolls and serving coffee for an after church crowd at a bakery for most of my adult life. When I moved out east, and found myself free on Sundays, I started watching it.

Yesterday’s episode featured a segment all about concession stands serving hot, buttery popcorn at movie theaters. You know I love me some popcorn.

And then it hit me….

 

Chocolate Chip Cookie Popcorn

 

1/4 cup popcorn kernels

2 Tablespoons canola or vegetable oil

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup golden syrup

1/3 cup sugar

1/2 cup cookie butter

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon butter extract, optional

3.5 oz chopped dark chocolate or mini chips, about 1/2 cup

 

Spray a metal sheet tray with cooking spray. Heat up vegetable oil in a large pot with a lid over medium high heat. Add popcorn kernels and cover with a lid. Shake the pan lightly back and forth as kernels pop. Once popcorn has popped, pour it into a large heatproof bowl. Let cool. Remove all unpopped kernels. Bring honey, golden syrup and sugar to a boil in a small pot. Reduce heat and let simmer for two minutes. Stir in cookie butter and extracts. Pour mixture over popcorn and fold together using a rubber spatula until all kernels are coated before pouring out onto the sprayed sheet spray. Spread coated popcorn to the edge of the pan. Immediately sprinkle with chocolate. Gently press chocolate into coated popcorn.  Let cool completely before breaking the popcorn into pieces and storing in an air tight container or plastic bag.

*If kernels are old, place them in a bowl of water for ten minutes. Drain, dry, and proceed with instructions as usual.

 

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

One thought on “Chocolate Chip Cookie Popcorn

Leave a Reply

