{Low Fat} Molasses Cookies

Wow, it’s been awhile since I’ve posted anything. Sorry!

My trip to Japan was AWESOME with a capital AWESOME, but more on that later.

For now, I’m trying to deal with whatever flu-like monstrosity I’ve contracted. First it was a cold last month, and now it’s some other bug. I blame Mother Nature and her unpredictable mood swings.

I’ve been resting for the past couple of days, thanks to my awesome BFF Kaitlyn who can help me out at work during the busy season.

We all know I bake to make myself feel better when I’m sick, so today I made one of my favorite cookies. I actually developed this recipe at school for a project including an original recipe plus three diet specific variations. The low fat version actually became my favorite. Here’s what I wrote as my introduction:

“When I was younger, I wouldn’t even think about touching molasses, or even anything that was made with it. Even more so, I wouldn’t eat anything that remotely resembled molasses. My dad loved it though, and still does. He puts it on his pancakes, and he certainly loves molasses cookies. I’d snub my nose every time he’d ask for the dark syrup that reminded me of tar.

            “It’s good for ya,” he’d tell me.

            It’s not until recently I’ve learned how delicious a molasses cookie can be. I’ve always associated molasses with a sharp and bitter taste, definitely not to my liking. But the cookie softens that bitterness, takes away the harsh aftertaste. I suppose the most obvious reason as to why I wanted to make them for this project is for my dad, seeing as he loves this type of treat so much. But I also think another reason as to this sudden craving for these cookies is the fact that I am a little homesick. I recently got to see my family for Easter, but before that I hadn’t seen them for three months. And it won’t be until I graduate in three more that I will be able to see them again. I haven’t seen my friends from home since Christmas; I won’t see them again until I graduate. So where does a baker (or anyone for that matter) turn to when the feeling of homesickness is almost too much to bear? Comfort food, of course!”

These cookies are just for you, Dad.

 

Low Fat Molasses Cookies

2.5 oz (5 Tbsp) butter

9 oz (1 ¼ cups) white sugar

2.9 oz (¼ cup) molasses

2 each egg whites

3.5 oz cooked, mashed, and cooled sweet potato (1/2 cup)*

2 tsp baking powder

½ tsp salt

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1 ½ tsp ground ginger

¼ tsp cardamom

4.6 oz (1 cup) all-purpose flour

4.6 oz (1 scant cup) bread flour

White or turbinado sugar, for rolling

Cream butter, sugar and molasses together on medium speed in a stand mixer with a paddle attachment until light in color, about 2 minutes. Add egg whites, one at a time, making sure to fully incorporate the first one before adding the second. Add mashed sweet potato, and then the baking powder, salt, and spices. Add flours last, mixing until just incorporated. Wrap cookie dough in plastic wrap, and refrigerate until firm, about 2 hours. Preheat oven to 350F. Scoop dough using a standard cookie scoop (about 1 fl oz) and roll each ball in sugar. Place rolled dough two inches apart on parchment lined baking sheets, and bake until edges are golden brown and tops are airy/foamy to the touch, about 15 minutes. Allow to cool completely on baking sheets before storing in an airtight container.

*If you don’t want any textural evidence that there’s sweet potato in your cookies, you’ll want to puree them instead of mashing them. Or, you’re welcome to try canned pumpkin instead. I haven’t before, but I’ll bet you the results will be equally delicious and healthy.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

