Honey Pear Chamomile Liqueur

One of my favorite things about summer is the fresh produce, especially when it comes from my uncle’s garden. I was visiting my New Jersey family last weekend, and my uncle gave me the freshest chamomile I’ve ever had. He picked it from his garden and dried it the very same day.

I debated for several days how to capture the essence of these butter yellow beauties, and I finally decided to combine two of my loves: infused alcohol and fresh flowers.

Honey, Pear, and Chamomile Liqueur

375 mL vodka

2 cups pear, cut into 1/4″ slices (about 2 small pears)

1/2 cup freshly dried chamomile

Honey simple syrup, to taste (recipe follows)

Combine alcohol and pears in a sealed glass decanter or container of your choice. Allow to steep for two weeks. Add chamomile, and allow to steep for an additional two weeks. Strain liqueur using a cheesecloth or coffee filter to remove all sediment. Pour back into a clean glass container. Add honey simple syrup, to taste, and seal the container. Allow to infuse for an additional week. This last step is optional, but highly recommended.

Honey Simple Syrup

2 parts honey (I used 2 Tablespoons)

1 part hot water (I used 1 Tablespoon)

Combine honey and water in a bowl until honey is dissolved. Allow to cool before using.

pearliqueur3

pearliqueur1

pearliqueur2

*I will post more pictures as the liqueur steeps, as well as one of the final product.

One thought on “Honey Pear Chamomile Liqueur

Leave a Reply

