Soy Nut Brittle

I love candy. I prefer it over almost any sweet, except for maybe ice cream.

The weird thing is, as a pastry chef, I’m not really into baked goods. I’ll have the occasional craving, but on most days, I pass up dessert.

So when I had one of my undeniable, irresistible candy cravings (plus some soy nuts I had no idea what to do with…), I decided I wanted to make something easy as well as satisfying. Hence, this cinnamony, crunchy, sweet, and easy to make soy nut brittle. Enjoy!

Oh, and if anyone asks, I didn’t eat half of it in one sitting.

 

Soy Nut Brittle

 

2 cups sugar

1/2 cup corn syrup

1/2 cup water

2 Tablespoons butter

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon baking soda

2 cups roasted and salted soy nuts

 

Spray a cookie sheet with cooking spray, or lightly coat with canola or vegetable oil. In a clean, dry, medium sized pot, combine the sugar, corn syrup, and water. Cook on high heat with a lid until it comes to a boil. Allow to boil with a lid for five minutes. While the syrup boils, combine the cinnamon and baking soda in a small bowl. Once the syrup has boiled for five minutes, remove the lid and continue to cook until the syrup is light amber in color, about 315F. Remove pan from heat. Whisk in butter and cinnamon/baking soda mixture into the syrup, then immediately switch to a wooden spoon and add in the soy nuts. Pour the brittle mixture onto the sprayed cookie sheet. Spread the hot mixture slightly. Allow to cool completely before breaking into pieces. Store in a plastic zipper bag for up to 1 month.

 

ssoynutbrittle1

One thought on “Soy Nut Brittle

Leave a Reply

