Morning Glory Muffins

To be honest, I’m not a huge whole wheat fan. Sure, I love a slice of rustic whole wheat bread, but really, it’s just an excuse to eat something slathered in warm butter. I know I should more often than I actually do, but I rarely bake anything with whole wheat flour.

However, my sister (we call each other “sissy”) is coming to visit tomorrow, and I can barely contain my excitement! Of course, I wanted to make her something delicious that also travels well for her trip back home.

So why would I punish her with healthy whole wheat muffins packed with fiber and nutrients, you ask?

Back when I was living at home and working at a local bakery, I would bring leftover goodies home for my family to enjoy. My dad would always reach for the cinnamon rolls, and my mom would take the lemon bars and throw them in the freezer to enjoy as a frozen treat. I’d always make sure to grab any extra chocolate chip cookies for Chels.

One Sunday afternoon, we didn’t have any leftover chocolate chip cookies (big surprise, right?), but we had a couple of these muffins to take home instead. And much to my surprise, my junk food loving sister ate them with enthusiasm. From then on, I’d make sure to bring any unwanted morning glory muffins home from work just for her.

To this day, these are one of her favorite muffins. And I don’t feel guilty in the least for making them for her.

 

Morning Glory Muffins

Yield: 18 large muffins

4 cups whole wheat flour

2 cups sugar

2 Tablespoons baking powder

1 Tablespoon ground cinnamon

2 cups coconut

1 cup sliced almonds

1 cup raisins

1 ½ cups grated carrots

2 grated granny smith apples

6 eggs

1 1/3 cups canola oil

2 Tablespoons vanilla extract

Sliced almonds, sunflower seeds, or pumpkin seeds, for garnish

Preheat oven to 350F. Line 18 jumbo muffin tins with liners. Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, and cinnamon in a large bowl. Add coconut, almonds, and raisins. Combine eggs, oil, and vanilla in a small bowl. Combine wet ingredients with dry ingredients. Batter will be very thick. Scoop into lined muffin tins using a 3-1/4 fl oz scoop. Top with sliced almonds. Bake until toothpick inserted comes out clean, about 30-35 minutes.

*Recipe slightly adjusted from Cynthia Hinton’s Morning Glory Muffin Recipe

morningglorymuffins1

One thought on “Morning Glory Muffins

  1. The setting for those muffins is just too quaint. Love it! Did you notice all the weird “data” stuff” on the post? Please look at my comment that I left on the cake with strawberries. I need you answer soon!

    Thank you! A Devoted Fan

Leave a Reply

