Vegan GF Graham Crackers

I can’t believe I’m writing this post.

Normally, when someone tells me they’ve made something without X, X, and X, I cringe. I’m a full fat, full sugar, full yummy goodness kind of baker. But, I’m also an experimenter, and making baked goods for people with allergies and intolerances has become a passion of mine.

Lately at work, I’ve been making gluten-free AND vegan items for a repeat customer. Gluten-free baking can be difficult. Vegan baking can be a struggle. But putting them together? Yikes. I swear to you, I didn’t sleep the night before I attempted this style of baking. Even though I’d done a ton of research, saved recipes from blogs like Gluten Free Canteen and Oh She Glows, and bought specialty ingredients, I was still a bit out of my element. Thankfully, I had nothing to worry about. Most of the recipes I’d try worked out very well. I could always tell the X-free baked goods weren’t 100% like their original counterparts, but that’s to be expected.

This recipe, however, is a different story.

No “strange” ingredients, no weird aftertaste, no weird texture. People keep telling me that these graham crackers don’t taste gluten-free or vegan. It’s a baking miracle! Trust me; if there’s someone in your life you has to go without gluten, eggs, and/or dairy, give this recipe a try.

 

Vegan GF Graham Crackers

 

14 tablespoons almond flour*

1/2 cup gluten-free all-purpose flour blend

1 cup gluten-free old-fashioned oats, processed into a flour

5 tablespoons cornstarch

3 tablespoons natural sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/8 teaspoon ginger

1/8 teaspoon nutmeg

3 tablespoons vegetable oil

3 tablespoons molasses

2 tablespoons almond milk, or other nondairy milk

2 tablespoons pure maple syrup

 

Preheat the oven to 350F and line a large baking sheet with parchment paper. In a kitchen aid mixer bowl with a paddle attachment, mix together all the dry ingredients.  In a small bowl, whisk together the wet ingredients. Add the wet mixture to the dry mixture and  mix until it comes together to form a dough.free floured nonstick mat. Place another nonstick mat or piece of wax paper over the top. Roll out the dough with a rolling pin until you have a rectangle that is about 1/8 inch thick. inch between each. Poke a few fork holes into each cracker. Repeat with the remaining dough. 6 minutes longer, or until golden brown. Transfer crackers to a cooling rack. Once cookies are completely cool, store in an airtight plastic bag or container for up to 1 month.

*If you can’t find almond flour, grind almonds in a spice/coffee grinder and sift it. Repeat until you have very little debris left in your sifter. This should also be done with the oats.


**Recipe adapted from Oh She Glows Gluten-Free and Vegan Graham Crackers Recipe

Leave a Reply

